lift and 2wd to 4wd convert

hey guys just bought my mj two weeks ago 89 pioneer 4.0 2wd 144000 miles. I bought it for $900 i really liked it but then got to lookin at this site and realized how quickly it could be turned in to a offroading machine...i was wondering any info on 4wd conversions i know there are many post about it but I'm new to the jeep world so all info is helpful. Also i want to put a lift on it how tall would i have to go to fit 33 10.5s or maybe 12.5s with no rubbing.

Welcome to the Club... :cheers:

Yes...there is a lot of info here about doing the conversion. Look through the Project forums and you will find a ton of good info.

Here is one thread going on recently about the 4WD swap... viewtopic.php?f=2&t=13375&hilit=4wd+conversion

If you use the search feature and type in things like "4WD swap", "4WD conversion", "4 wheel drive" ... you will find a lot more. :thumbsup:

As for the lift, you will need 4.5" - 5.5" to comfortably fit the wheel & tire set up that you are talking about.

Probably the least expensive lift to go with 33" tires is to go spring over axle in the rear, all you need to do (or have done) is weld new spring perches on top of the axle, and possibly take the center bolt out of the leaf packs and put a new one in bottom to top. But that may not even be necessary. That should give you ~6.5" with your stock springs. You probably need at least 4.5" which can be done with new leaf packs in the back, but may need to do some cutting on your front fenders.

In the front you can go with 6.5" coils, adjustable upper and lower control arms and an adjustable track bar.

And then taller shocks and longer brake lines. YJ lines should work for the front, mid 90s Dakota for the rear and a longer rod for the variable brake proportioning valve, or take the valve out of the equation all together. Stainless steel brake lines for whatever lift you will be running are also available.