CABOVER CAMPER

All,

I have read every post about the pros and cons of a cab over camper in the bed. Since most of the posts are old I wanted to see if anyone has any new insight or experiences. I got a deal on a Skamper 72s. Low profile but when cranked up it is 6'4" inside. Weights 1050. I was going to add bags at a minimum and maybe the heavy springs. I have the 4.0 and Dana 35, Long Bed. I don't want to give up my truck (But A/C be nice) but I like the camper also. I do not plan heavy off road with camper but rather looking to head out to fishing areas paved and gravel. The guy I got it from had it in a toyota tacoma with no issues. Any new insight is appreciated. Rick

While I have no experience with a cab-over camper I do carry a heavy shell on my longbed. Even with that I experienced increased body roll. I think as a minimum you should install a fresh set of Metric Ton springs for the extra weight and a beefier anti-sway bar up front, like from a ZJ V8 model. Maybe some heavy duty shocks all around too especially if you still have the originals. I don't think bags will be necessary if you do these things.

Oceanic815 has put a rear swaybar kit on his MJ and liked it, he sent me a link but the link no longer works.

I picked up one of these: http://motionoffroad.com/catalog/index. ... ts_id=1292, but I did not get it from Motion... I bought it directly from Addco for $189 +shipping which came to about $205 delivered to my door. I like Motion, but their $30 mark-up and random shipping rates are a bit much for this item.

But about the item, it really stiffens up the rear. I have a 3" lift so I had to mount it higher on the axle so the links would be at as close to a right angle as possible. It reduces flex, but does help the handling by having the bar... my rig feels like a completely different vehicle with it. It took maybe 45 minutes to install with the provided instructions and a socket set.