im new and i need help...

Hey guys I'm new to the Comanche and the 4x4 world... i drive a 240sx back home. but this summer I'm in alaska working. I bought an 86 Comanche with a 2.8Ltr V6 (guttless wonder i know...) and its a 4x4. I put in new rear brake lines once i got it home and did a tune up and shes been doin great. Until the other day... every once in awhile id hit a bump and hear kind of a thunk in the back. i made the mistake of just letting it go and not worrying about it. It only make the thunk when i hit a bump in the road, but two days ago i was pulling out onto the main road leaving my house and BAM something broke. I figured it was the U joints, so i checked those. Turns out they were fine. So today i pulled off the rear diff cover (its a dana 35), and when i roll one wheel back and forth the spider gears and the ring gear move in and out of the differential i found one tooth so far ( which in thinking is from the front input gear...) i would love to take this time to upgrade my F&R axles but i need to fix this soon so i can get back to work.. My question for you guys is how do i pull this rearend apart? ive already pulled the bearing caps and she still won't budge, so do i have to pull the axles too? (my 240 has a floating rear axle so this is all new to me.)

Any input is helpful, Thanks guys!

P.s. Ive been looking on this forum for a little while and i have to say that its by far my favorite compared to all the others ive looked at.

-Taylor

welcome, and bummer first post.

yes, the axles have to come out before the carrier does. honestly, find out what gear ratio you have, and just swap in another axle. from the sounds of it, you are not ready to install a new ring and pinion, if thats what it is.

but, if its just the spider gears, you're in way better shape. let us know.