tcase question

I'm a newbie so please bare with me. I am going to turn an 1989 mj from 2wd into 4wd. ithink i have figured out what tcase i need, but don't know how to identify one from another. any help would be appreciated.

They all have a approximate, 2" tag on the left side rear of the case. It has the mdl no on it. However if your doing a swap then use the TC that came with the rest of the stuff, Hope you have the donor sitting beside the donee and swapping everything you need and not trying to run down individual components.

I do have a donor, but it has an auto trans in it. I was thinking of staying with the ax15. It's my understanding that you just have to swap the output shaft in order for it to work, or is that wrong?

To convert your 2wd AX-15 to a 4wd one? No, it's not quite that simple.

You'll need a 4wd output shaft, and a 4wd rear housing. Probably 80% of the working parts are on the output shaft, and unless you have a press, a good gear puller, and have a history of working on the innards of a manual transmission, you're probably not going to be able to do it. Considering you'll need parts from a 4wd transmission, you might as well just buy a working one and save yourself a ton of trouble.

Converting from a manual to an auto will also be a bit of work.

PAIN IN THE F***in @$$!!!!

Just did mine during the winter and spring, it worked out great but unless your ready to ditch your friends for some SERIOUS wrench time and some SERIOUS dollars in nuts and bolts then I wouldn't do it.

SLAP a huge winch on that thing and go play with the rest of them.

Just did mine during the winter and spring, it worked out great but unless your ready to ditch your friends for some SERIOUS wrench time and some SERIOUS dollars in nuts and bolts then I wouldn't do it.

What's a PITA?

Converting to 4wd, or converting a 2wd trans into a 4wd trans?

With everything ready to go beforehand, a 4wd swap can easily be done in 2-3 days with a little help.

What's a PITA?