best spark plugs for a 4.0 (02 grand cherokee)?

i'm going to change plugs for my father in law in the future. i was just wondering what you guys have found to be the best in this application. also, his cruise only works on occasion. when he gets it set it may be fine, or it may fail at anytime. sometimes it won't even engage. it's very hit or miss. any ideas?

Being a dealer tech, I have NEVER seen a problem with factory plugs. I have seen problems with other brands, but I'm not sure that it has ever been with a 4.0. I myself love the Bosch Platinums, but I'm sure other people will have better opinions as to what works best, as I don't own a 4.0.

As far as the cruise, check the vacuum line going to the cruise module under the hood. The WJ is known for the vac lines going bad, at least the rubber parts. Another thing to check if that is ok is the buttons on the steering wheel. If they have a problem they could cause the problem youre describing. If you have access to a good scan tool, you can hook it up and go into sensors, or inputs/outputs, and try to work the cruise buttons and see if the values change or not. If they don't then you would have an issue with the buttons or the harness, usually the buttons. Good luck!

any idea on the specifics for the plug? the exact plug? i want to be able to tell him what to go get so he doesn't mess something up when he's looking them up. it'll be easier if i can just call him and give him the brand, plug type, and number.

i know some plugs work better than others in some engines, as well as different heat levels. is ngk platinum the oe plug? it's on an 02 gc with 4.0.

stick with the o.e plugs. if its a late 4.0 w/ direct ignition (coil on plug) they are ngk platinum. earlier 4.0's like regular ole champion.

NGK yes, platinum no. DO NOT USE platinum plugs in a 4.0L. period.