TPS adjustment help!

Ok, this is my first time trying to adjust the TPS and through many searches this is the method I followed. Turned key to run position. I have the automatic so I found the square connector with four terminals, put the positve lead of my multimeter into the back of the wire labeled A and the negative to a ground wire on the truck. The meter measured 5.47 volts. It supposed to be around 5 volts but don't know how far off it can be. Anyway, I then put the positve lead into the back of wire B and it measured 4.83. The second number is supposed to be 83% of the first number 5.47x.83=4.54. So it is a bit out of adjustment. I loosen the TPS sensor screws and while watching the meter, moved the sensor until the multimeter read 4.54. When all was said and done I ended up with the first number being 5.46 and the second being 4.52, So very close to spec.

But, When I go to start up the truck it takes a couple cranks like usual, starts and then proceeds to idle at ~2000 rpm! I don't have a tach yet so this is just an estimate. What did I do wrong to cause such a high idle? Is the TPS just bad, indicated by the high 5.47?

I don't know where you got the percentage testing method from, but here is the proper TPS testing method from the FSM... viewtopic.php?f=9&t=12260

Your voltage at terminal "B" with A/T and throttle closed should be 4.2 volts.

High idle is more typically caused by a problem with the IAC. If you haven't yet, take the throttle body off, remove the TPS & IAC, clean everything REAL good, then reassemble, adjust TPS and fire it up to see what you have.

I will retry it today using that method.

Last time I found it hard to get any reading if I didn't put the negative to a good ground. Would this cause a problem?

I have already cleaned the IAC real good but not the TPS yet, I will get it all good and clean.