Making The Thunderbird Great Again

Chapter One: Just Skip This, It's Boring. To get to the interesting part, click here!

The truck is in a pretty bad way right now. It's still up in the air whether or not the engine will need to be replaced, and if it does I'm going to do it right stroker. I'm a working college student, and frankly I don't have much time to work on it right now (note from the future: the truck is fine now, but when I got this car it was in the middle of a botched rear main seal replacement that resulted in a chipped engine block). In the meantime, I figured I should make a new thread for my "new" ride. No, it's not an MJ or an XJ or a ZJ or a YJ or a TJ or a WJ or anything really having to do with this forum at all. It's a car.

Tgbrjlhl.jpg

Big Wall Of Text: January 2015

This car has a very special place in my heart. My grandmother purchased it new in 1996, and I've probably spent a quarter of my childhood in its back seat. Last year, she bought a new car, so the T-Bird was just sitting around. All the original paperwork (even the warranty papers) and owners manuals are present, and the glovebox contained a pile of maintenance receipts going back to its first oil change at 3,700 miles.

It's about as far from my MJ as you can possibly get. At 201 inches long and 3700 pounds unloaded, it's a far cry from the small and lightweight Jeep. With front and rear independent suspension, it rides and handles surprisingly well. I didn't know you could adjust a car seat in so many ways, and the steering wheel alone has more buttons than an entire fleet of MJs. Despite its weight, the 4.6l V8 moves it pretty well, and on a recent drive home I averaged 26.7 mpg. I had no idea such a big car could get such good mileage, but it's consistently gotten mid to high 20s on the highway since I've been driving it. The best fuel economy I've ever gotten in the MJ is 17 mpg highway.