Exhaust Manny?

I'm 90% sure mine has a crack (or cracks)...although been too lazy to crawl under when the truck was the engine is still "cool". I had one bust on my TJ a couple years ago and the symptoms are similar... poor running (worse than usual), extra amounts of puffing/chugging and extra gassy exhaust smell (while sitting in the cab)... I was able to get the TJ one replaced under the 7yr/70K warranty thing...

On a scale 1 to 10 how hard of an install is that to do myself (remember I'm a novice wrench), and should I get an OEM Type Replacement (from where?), or something else after market?

Thanks

SuperWDeuce

Get an aftermarket replacement. There is a guy on eBay that sells them for about $90.

The OEM replacements are terribly expensive...even with the discount that I could get for you. Retail is $519 ... I can get it for $359. :roll: :eek:

As far as difficulty...it can be a pain with rusted bolts and access to the bolts without the right tools, but over all it's not a terribly hard job. I would give it a 5 on a scale to 10.

Good question SW2, I have the instructions from Alldata if you need them.

It says it takes a moderate experienced mechanic 4.6 hours, because you need to remove the power steering stuff, fuel rail, intake manifold heat shield, vaccum hoses, air box, and intake manifold. Although I think jeepco just lifted the engine and welded the cracks on his.

I'd also like to know where's a good option to buy because the dealer is just too expensive for the exhaust manifold.