88' Pioneer Restoration, Poppaw's Truck

I am new to the forums, I have lurked around for a few years but this is my first time posting.  I have begun restoring my Grandfather's '88 MJ.  He bought it a few months after I was born and drove it until his Alzheimer's forced him off the road.  I hauled it up the mountain (along with his '46) to try and get them running again.  We have always been jeep people, so it was great to keep them in the family.  

The MJ is/was an 88 Pioneer.  It originally had a longbed on it.  A few years before he stopped driving it he replaced the box with a flat bed.  After driving it around like that for a few years the frame had rusted out, so he and a friend frankensteined 2 MJs together to get to where we are now.  I am fairly sure (though his mind is far to gone for me to ask) that the bed and frame came from a later model manual MJ.  I have a lot of hillbilly engineering to work through and decipher.  I say that with love though.  He was a mechanic in the Korean war, and then came back home and worked in the coal mines of WV. Thats where the 46 spent its whole life, deep in the mine shafts.  

Anyway! My goal is to get it back to looking as close to how I remember it from my childhood as I can, and get it cleaned up and protected so that I can haul my munchkin around in it, like I got toted around by my Grandpa.  Going on adventures and running up the street alike.  I started the whole thing off by replacing the battery, changing the oil and pouring some mystery oil in the spark plug holes.  It had been sitting for around 8 years and I figured that would help loosen anything stuck.  I got it to turn over but was getting no fuel so I began the deep dive into rebuilding a fuel pump.