New to Jeeps

Hey guys, I'm new to the jeep world but not 4x4. A friend of mine at work gave me his 89 MJ 2wd. I have done alot of research on this site and learned alot about these trucks. Most of the suspention is about the same besides the front end with coil springs, used to the leaf front.. But anyhow I'm going to convert her over to a 4x4. as far as i know what i need is:

1. front dana 30 with upper/lower control arms and all those goodies

2. 5 speed 4x4 trans auto or manual, not sure if its easy to make into auto

3. t-case

4. front drive shaft and get mine shortened or a new one made

5. cross members that are needed

if anything else i can't think of plz let me know this is what i gathered

2nd thing is sence its a 2wd i have read that if i did a SOA that it will sit 1" lower so I'm guessing like 4" lift, correct me if I'm wrong, anyhow would it be to much to lift the front end 3" without messing with the control arms or trac bar? or would i be better off getting a 4.4" lift from rustys or wrough country?

Anyhow i just wana know whats best to do to be able to run 30 or 31" under my truck without rubbing at all or much and still have ground clearance for some 4x4 fun.

Thx guys gals

Billy

if you want to run 31's for cheap I would try spacers for the coils and maybe a "aal" for the rear and you should be gravy. As long as you are only doing light wheeling. This is my rig with 4 inch drop brackets and "aal" on the rear with 31's

Image Not Found

1. front dana 30 with upper/lower control arms and all those goodies

2. 5 speed 4x4 trans auto or manual, not sure if its easy to make into auto

3. t-case

4. front drive shaft and get mine shortened or a new one made

5. cross members that are needed

if anything else i can't think of plz let me know this is what i gathered

1. Get a Dana 30 that matches the gears of your rear end. You don't need the control arms.