Pause when starting

Hi

New to Jeeps, spent the last 4 years with Toyotas. Got tired of the lack of power! So far I love this truck, a 90 4.0 AX15 4X4. Power, style, utility, parts availability, and much better mileage than my V6 4runner. Just completed the external slave conversion to my AX15 and am loving it. This site has helped me tremendously.

It had a leaking MC when I got it. Replaced MC, removed the fuse block and cleaned with an entire bottle of electrical contact cleaner and replaced all the fuses. Checked for rust as well. NONE! Gotta love the southwest.

On to the problem

When starting, if I turn the key directly to "start", there is about a one second pause before the starter engages. If I turn the key to "run" and leave it there for one second then turn the key to "start", the starter engages immediately. Whats going on here? Or is just something that these things do?

Any help would be appreciated!

Dan

I'm new to jeeps as well so this may happen to me without warning as well. Mine does not lag when i hit the start possition with my ign. switch, not to say there is not a relay that gives power to the trigger lead on the starter solaniod. I would take a multi-meter of sorts and connect it to the trigger input pole, or stud, on the starter itself. Its usually the one with only one wire and is smaller than the rest in size visually. Have your meter set to volts dc (usually -- lines vs a sidewase s) and put the meter in the window and check the timing between when you turn the key and when your meter gets 10+volts. If there is a delay at all i would say there is a relay in place and its acking up, if you get proper volts and then there is a delay i would say grab a new solinoid and give it a shot. If its not the soliniod i would check the wear on the teeth on your flywheel and make sure things engage mechanicaly like they should. Good luck friend. :wrench: After rereading this i guess a sticky or gunky ignition switch can act this way as well but i wo