Column shift MJ starting issue

Hello all! New to the forum, love what you guys do!

I've got a 91, 4.0 MJ with a column shift that I'm having some issues with. When i bought the truck the seller told me that you needed to pull up on the shifter when you start it. Well, that worked for about the first ten times and now it won't start at all. I started by removing and cleaning the neutral safety switch because my backup lights don't work, that didn't help. Next i tried to adjust the shifter cable but could not locate any adjustment on either end. The truck shifts fine through all gears and doesn't seem to have any slack in it so i would think its not the cable. The shifter cable only goes from the trans to the bottom of the column so putting pressure on the shifter wouldn't effect cable tension, maybe a switch? I'm not able to find any info on the column shift Mj's and i have zero experience with them. I'm hoping you guys could point me in the right direction, any imput would help. Thanks!

just checked the NSS again and it seems to be fine, also my back up lights are working now. Still won't start in park or neutral. Could there be something in the column that has failed, holding up on the shifter was putting enough pressure on something to make it start.