86 Comanche starter motor

Help! ...

My starter motor has stuck..I need to get it off, the pictures in my manual don't help much and I have limited knowledge ...

I have an 86 Comanche 2.5 petrol inline 4 - (AMC 150) .... all original no mods...

Looking at it from underneath engine (working out on the road, no pit, no ramp! and it's chucking it down with rain!) :mad:

- it looks to me like 2 long bolts either side of motor to remove it (as well as disconnecting starter solenoid)

- these bolts look like TX star bolts? removeable by TX (star) socket - well that's what we call them here (UK) - am I right?

- then is it an E13 socket? (I bet it is because that's the one I don't have and can't find over here) ....... :shake:

I can't get a picture yet as the rain and general darkness/oily engine are making it impossible right now!...

any help and advice much needed as I need my truck back on the road as it's my daily driver and I can't get to work!....

I don't beleive those bolts are 'star' they should be hex heads 'six sided' although I havent pulled the starter on an '86. On the '87 they are not star. On my '87 they are in mm size, I thought one was 15mm and the other was 16mm. Hopefully someone else can confirm.

I don't beleive those bolts are 'star' they should be hex heads 'six sided' although I havent pulled the starter on an '86. On the '87 they are not star. On my '87 they are in mm size, I thought one was 15mm and the other was 16mm. Hopefully someone else can confirm.

Thanks, think this may be on the straight 6 not the 4- but I'll have a look....I need all the help I can get!