blinker problems

I know this has been gone over a billion times here, let me add my weird example to the database.

I just had the bed off, got a clean bed of an 86 that had all the taillight wires, including the large harness connector at the back of the truck, then the wires were cut. I spliced this harness up to my existing wiring.

I grounded it to the screw behind the L taillight. I believe it to be a good ground.

Left blinker works fine.

Right blinker does not - the right green arrow just stays on when I push the stalk, and the parking/taillight lights up, but doesn't blink. Right blinker works when the head/taillights are off, but then the left blinker blinks dimly as well.

When I put on the hazards, everything works!

Besides the ground behind the left taillight that I'm going to clean up, any other pertinent grounds I need to check? Guess I might need to check the harness itself. And what's that yellow "goo" that always gets into the sockets? LOL

I'm not an expert on '86's, others are, and there are some differences on the '86 model.

And one of the problems your experiencing could be one of them differences, like a change in the steering column's mulit-function switch :dunno:

If the right blinker is staying on, that's a sign that you have a grounding issue, it could be the front marker/turn light, most likely the socket ground. There is also a body ground behind the left headlight, on the inner fender that grounds the front lights.

That 'yellow goo' is Die-electric grease :D

haha yeah, fluid's low. I'll clean up that ground a little bit, and check the front socket. My truck is an 87, but the bed and harness are from an 86. Truck was sitting for 2-3 months while I swapped the bed and gas tank, so maybe the socket got corroded up front. I've seen that one before!