Column Shifter to Floor Shifter... How difficult is it?

Like many others on here I am constantly thinking of different stuff to do to my MJ. I have an 89 4x4 auto. with column shifter. I have been throwing the idea around in my head of changing it from a column shifter to floor shifter. Would I have to change any major parts (ie. transmission, transfer case, etc.)? What all do I need to do this? How difficult is it? Any details and instructions are greatly appreciated? Please use lamen terms as I'm not a mechanic, but I do enjoy these trucks and tinkering with them.

All you'll need is the floor shifter components out of an XJ or MJ. Everything will bolt right up, your 4wd linkages will all stay the same.

You might want to get ahold of a floor shifter column as well. I'm sure there's someone on here who would be interested in the column shifter stuff, they're pretty hard to find.

Sounds fairly simple. Can it all be done through that plate that you have to unbolt from the inside? Again its just an idea that I'm tossing around in my head at the moment.

You may need to drop the transmission down a bit by unbolting the crossmember from the framerails, but you shouldn't have to pull the trans itself. I've never personally done it, so I don't know the specifics.

I changed mine and didn't have to drop anything down. I did have to pull the shift cable out thru the firewall and run it back in thru a different hole (that's was already there). I still have the column shift steering column in mine. Had to tie the shift thing up with a piece of coat hanger to prevent someone from shifting with the shifter on the column.