Rear axle leaking on 86 4X4 xls

Hey guys,

I've never done the rear axle on a jeep before. I was wondering if you had some tech help for me here. How much should I fill up the axle. Where's the best place to get a seal/gasket. And do these things have clutch packs or anything requiring a friction modifier? Where would the RPO code for the axle be found? I didn't see anything in the glove box.

Obliged

Are you talking about around the valve cover its leaking? Or maybe at the fill plug?

Generally, just undo all the bolts on the cover, leave the top one in and let the fluid drain out. Pop the cover completely off and remove all old gasket/rtv. Put a nice bead of RTV around the cover and reinstall it. Give it some time to set up then fill the diff with proper fluid. I usually fill it until fluid is at the bottom of the fill plug opening.

if its leaking something else like pinion seal, or even your wheel cylinders, then thats a little more involved!

Considering the age and unknown what any previous owner may have done or swapped out on these MJ'S a RPO is almost useless. Just do a physical inspection and go from there. IF it's original there will be one or two tags mounted on the differential housing cover. One on the left hand side giving build date and gear ratio. If it's a limited slip there will be another tag on the right hand side giving the data on it. In the real world either one or both of these tags are missing.

Jack up the rear axle so both wheels are off the ground. Turn one wheel. If the other wheel turns the same way it's posi tra, and needs friction modifier. if it turns opposite direction it's not. Look on the back of the axle housing, left hand side. Numbers there will give you manufacture and build date. To fill it, just fill it up even with the fill hole. Any parts house should have gaskets, bearings, etc.