Welding woes

Now as I am sure is pretty obvious, I am pretty new to the welding and fabricating business. How much of a necessity is it to weld along the top perimeter the plating? I am really having issues. I have cleaned it multiple times with a wire wheel I just can't get a good bead to lay down. I can't get a puddle started without burning through the thin sheet metal. The area that is there is so small and tight to the top that I when I try to focus the puddle on the plate I can't get the puddle to move fast enough to penetrate the sheet metal. I am drawing a blank. Here is a pic of what's going on.

Well, here is my unprofessional opinion...

Assuming MiG. Also assuming you have adjusted your heat accordingly. Its kinda hard to see your welds. but kinda looks like too fast a feed and too quick a motion. Maybe slightly too hot. I know this doesn't sound right initially, but if you think about it. Heat burns thru, so moving the gun faster across the steel stops burning, but leaves thin beads. So you turn up the feed to compensate. This leaves "bird $#!&" welds with little to none for penetration. I don't think you this bad, but maybe somewhere in-between. The welds appear to lack real good penetration. Not awful, but could be better. Again, I cannot see them great. I would strike the bead on the thicker steel first. Spend 75% of the time there and then swing out onto the thin stuff. Kinda like skipping a beat. Instead of swinging back and fourth, linger on the thicker steel. Every other swing of the wand hit the thin steel. With the heat down the more time on the thicker steel will allow for penetration while not burning thru the thin stuff.

If still you cannot get it you cannot get it. BUT be sure you seal up the joint with something or water will penetrate and rust between the sheets.

Since you asked, a couple other critiques...