89 Comanche "Country" LWB restomod project

Hi everyone. I recently moved from Richmond, VA to Spokane, WA to start a new chapter on life and to open up a metal fab shop in my backyard. One of the things I'll need for the business is a decent, hardworking pickup truck to haul steel, scrap, and projects. I ended up buying an 89 Comanche a few weeks back that needs a lot of TLC, but I see a lot of potential in it.

http://i.imgur.com/mnfTnqd.jpg

Although this is my first MJ I am no stranger to XJs. My first car was a 92 XJ back in 1999, which I sold after purchasing a red 98 XJ in 2003 which I still drive to this day. I am new to Comanche Club, but have been active on Jeeps Unlimited, NAXJA, and even XJ Forum in the past.

Anyways, down to the details of the MJ: built in February 1989, 4.0L, column shift AW4, NP231, Dana 30 front, Dana 44 rear. 7 foot bed, maybe "metric ton package"? Rebuilt title. 198K miles on the odometer. Motor was rebuilt within the past couple years, runs ok. Transmission has issues: no reverse, and it feels like only 2nd gear works. No shifting occurs until 35-40MPH then it shifts into a non-functioning gear and coasts like neutral. There's no exhaust after the manifold/header so its loud as hell. Front end was involved in some type of collision: header panel and fenders are from an XJ. Every body panel is dented in some way, shape, or form. Previous owned plastered bondo on the door and rear cab corner. Interior is falling apart and the steering column is loosey goosey. It has a spring over lift in the rear and I'm guessing 6" coils in the front, its tall as hell riding on 31s. It looks like a pile of $#!& and my family thinks I'm crazy for buying it, but us Jeep guys know a diamond in the rough when we see one.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T8sy7_X6bjc