My "new" 88? (Formerly: Granite State Clean-up - '90 MJ)

Greetings all … I’ve been lurking for a few years and have been a CC member since January 2013.  I’ve had a number of Jeep vehicles over the years.  Present DD is an ’01 XJ and I’m formally introducing my ’90 MJ. 

I have more questions than answers, but I’m a quick study, willing to help and always pay it forward.  I am NOT a mechanic and know just enough to know when NOT to mess with it.

My experience here has been entertaining, educational and I’ve discovered some really good souls. 

My name is Tim and this is my project MJ thread.   

10142012 055.jpg

1990 Pioneer 4X4, auto, 4.0, long box.  As near as I can tell, I’m the 4th registered owner and nearly all the maintenance records came with the truck.  I found it on Winston-Salem, NC Craigslist.  

The seller had accepted the truck as partial payment for a house painting job.  A great guy who was driving the truck daily and took pictures of everything I asked.  After some negotiation, I struck a deal with him and he even coordinated transport to New Hampshire.

00H0H_3pN5sObQQPk_600x450.jpg

00w0w_hrlpizV11sa_600x450.jpg
00W0W_5vkGwbzY8UN_600x450.jpg
00p0p_cBQrEW1yGQM_600x450.jpg
00l0l_4tONflW5tQ5_600x450.jpg
00H0H_jDy9QGGmQkg_600x450.jpg
00e0e_8hiJeGzLMM_600x450.jpg
00101_cdl9RGehCFo_600x450.jpg
00808_21YcIM68u6r_600x450.jpg
00s0s_jhKaY4bOOzB_600x450.jpg
00505_aSaKDPsrJch_50x50c.jpg00H0H_3pN5sObQQPk_50x50c.jpg00w0w_hrlpizV11sa_50x50c.jpg00W0W_5vkGwbzY8UN_50x50c.jpg00p0p_cBQrEW1yGQM_50x50c.jpg00l0l_4tONflW5tQ5_50x50c.jpg00H0H_jDy9QGGmQkg_50x50c.jpg00e0e_8hiJeGzLMM_50x50c.jpg00101_cdl9RGehCFo_50x50c.jpg00808_21YcIM68u6r_50x50c.jpg00s0s_jhKaY4bOOzB_50x50c.jpg

First order of business is to separate your ride from the herd.  Best way to do it?  Wheels.  I opted for the Rubi Moab 16X8.  Not a huge reach, but I think they had it right when they put this wheel out.  Looks good on the 4x4 MJ without any suspension mod.

10142012 054.jpg