Peugeot BA10/5 Transmission Fluid Change

Ok, this will be my first post to CC. I recently purchased an 87 Base Comanche with 184,000 miles and a I6 4.0L engine. I am still learning about it's quirks, but all around, it's proven to be a great buy. Here's my scenario...

My intention with this truck is to have a second vehicle to get around, maybe haul some light loads of gravel, and not worry about getting my new car all dirty. I recently had to take the truck on a longer than usual trip (2 hours) and noticed that by the time I got to my destination, the truck was smoking from underneath. Temperature and oil pressure gauge both read steady. It had not yet done this in three weeks of ownership. After a little investigation, I discovered a light drip of gear oil from the transmission onto the muffler. I believe I have the Peugeot BA10/5, not a AX5 or AX15. It would seem as though many Jeep owners are not very happy with this transmission, but alas, it's what I possess.

Ok, to the point. Is it a good or bad idea to change the transmission fluid? I bought 3 bottles of Redline MT-90 and a bottle of Lucas transmission fix. I would like to think that changing the fluid wouldn't hurt anything, but have also heard some scary stories about this particular transmission not reacting well to it. It's a very light drip, but I don't know if the fluid has ever been changed. The previous owner seemed to take good care of the truck, but didn't leave me much in the way of records. For all I know it's been dripping a long time and the thought of the transmission running out of gear oil is equally as concerning.

Any experience, thoughts, or input would be greatly appreciated. I am not a mechanic, but I can figure out most projects with good instructions and a few runs to the parts store. I plan to hold off on the project until I've thought about it some more. Thanks in advance!

I can't imagine a factory fill of transmission fluid being good for anything.  I would change it.