86 Comanche 2.8l Engine Swap

Hey everyone, I am new to the comanche club, definitely love all the Comanche trucks and projects being posted up.  I currently own a 86 2.8l Comanche, but I am not a big fan of the 2.8l and was wondering if anyone could tell me whether the 4.0l Inline or the 2.1l diesel would be compatible with my firewall and generally an easy swap in and out?  Up until now I have heard both yes and no from random online sites all over the internet and am hoping to clear that up before I proceed.  Any and all input is welcome, thanks everyone in advance!

Thanks! Wow so you had to chop a lot off to make room? Is the swap from the 2.5 basically the same as the 2.8?

Yea, I did a lot of work to make it work. Before I tackled this project, I had never done something this involved in fab work. I learned a lot.

As far as swapping out the 2.8 being similar to swapping out a 2.5... yes, swapping the actual engine and doing all the fab work would be the same. You'll have some added steps like swapping in a electric fuel pump and some harness stuff. I don't know what else, but I'm sure another member will chime in who has experience removing that 2.8 junk.

Why don't you swap in a GM 3.4L V6 from a mid-90s Camaro or Trans Am? Same basic block as the 2.8L so it'll drop right in, but a much better engine.

This is another good, viable option. Coupled with some sort of EFI, it would be a really good option.

Yeah that was the other option I had considered, definitely a great Idea and worth looking into.  Any idea if the renault diesel 2.1 would fit in smoothly?  Or require a lot of fab/work to make it work?  Also what type of trans should I drop in if I go with the 3.4?

The 2.1L TD will fit without firewall/radiator support modification (as they were an engine choice for these trucks in '86).