Yamaha Xt 350 Dual Sport

I decided awhile back I needed a more fuel efficient DD, my MJ was definitely not cutting it. I present my "new" 91 Yamaha XT 350 Dual Sport. Fun to drive, great off road, street legal AND over 70 MPG. She hits 85, more than enough speed for a daily commute.

I have very little riding experience, don't even have a bike license yet, but this bike is a great place to learn. Quick, agile, light and a hell of alot of fun on and off road. Single cylinder, 350cc, dual cam, air cooled "thumper", apparently just as bullet proof as our beloved 4.0s. She needs a bit of work aesthetically, but runs perfectly with a recently rebuilt carb. I'm proud to call her my own.

The tool box on my MJ prevents me from hauling the bike in my bed, so I recruited the help of a buddy of mine who just got his MJ:

upkDBro.jpg

fLtnyrk.jpg

Anyone here have experience with these bikes? Look forward to documenting the work I put into it on here. 

Love the older thumpers. Had a few DTs then bored/stroked an 07 drz400..... If this girl (me) can tinker with them anyone with some wrenching skill can!

Check out thumpertalk.com for most of your needs :)

Guess I've had maybe thirty bikes over the years, and I keep coming back to singles. The simplicity and ease of maintenance is a big plus. And nothing sounds better than a big 4-stroke single at speed. lil_loco, even had a Yammy 400 DT, if that's what you are referring to, but that was the last 2-stroke I ever owned as the auto lube system locked up going across the steel grate York River bridge in VA and nearly ended it all for me.

This is the latest:

Image Not Found

A custom German 500cc MZ Silver Star Rotax I cafe-ed. Build thread:

http://comancheclub.com/topic/17134-mz-rotax-cafe-racer-project/page-2?hl=thumper

Recently sold it, and am looking for a nice BSA Gold Star to play with now.