Using A Torque Wrench In Reverse?

gogmorgo

Since I'm a little new to using a torque wrench, I was looking up how to's, just to make sure I was doing it right. In just about every one, someone says "don't use it in reverse" and/or "don't use it for disassembly".

My question is, why not? The manufacturer for mine put the reverse onto it, and then gave accuracy ratings for both forward and reverse. The accuracy is higher in the forward (clockwise) position, but not by all that much.

Is there some grounds to not using it to turn things counter-clockwise? Google's not helping...

You don't need to know what the torque rating is when you are dis-assembling and there could be a possibility of damaging the torque wrench by exceeding the mechanism's rating. Many times when dis-assembling an engine it is necessary to use a cheater to break loose bolts that have been in place for a long time or that have been loctited. The torque required to break it loose with a cheater could well damage a torque wrench.

The torque wrench has bi-directional ability as some fasteners may have left hand threads. The wrench mechanism is designed primarily for right hand threads and therefore is not as accurate when used on left hand threads.

Its fine to use one of these....they're more accurate anyway. I also use my HF "click" type to disassemble parts all the time. I just accept that there is going to be a margin of error with torque wrenches unless you get one of the high dollar versions, then I'd be more careful. But if I spent the money for a precise torque wrench, I'd also have it calibrated yearly or so.

64720.jpg

Depends on the wrench some will work both ways and some only go one way.

I don't use one for disassembly because I have other tools for that.but I would say as long as you don't exceed max torque and your not pulling on it past where it clicks you will be ok.

If you are putting a cheater bar on a torque wrench you need kicked in the head.